40 Year Recertification
In Miami-Dade and Broward County of Florida, 40 year building recertifications are required by law. This extra safety check was fully implemented in 2006 to add oversight to older decaying buildings in Florida’s unique climate.
The counties require this inspection from a licensed professional for buildings after 40 years and every 10 years following. Buildings owners that do not comply can lose their certificate of occupancy and may be fined. At BE-CI, our experts can make this process easy.
Miami-Dade County 40 Year Recertification
You can find the Dade County 40 Year Recertification form here to get an understanding of what the inspection will cover. Our team members will inspect the components of the building envelope, building structure and electrical systems, and will fill out the necesary paperwork.
Your building is exempt if it is a single family home or duplex that is less than 2,000 sq feet or has an occupancy of ten or less.
Broward County 40 Year Recertification
You can find the Broward County 40 Year Recertification form here for details about the inspection. The inspection is similar to the Dade County inspection and will validate the building’s integrity on a number of levels.
Your building is exempt if it is a single family home or duplex or is less than 3,500 sq feet.
Want this done soon?